About Us:

        Administrative Structure

        Succession  list of Programme Coordinators

        NSS Advisory Committee

        Address of NSS functionaries


National Service Scheme (NSS) Bureau opens in Council of Higher Secondary Education, Odisha in the year 1992. Aiming to develop the personality of young students through community service, the Bureau has been designing and implementing variety types of welfare activities with the guidance and supervision of state NSS Cell in the Department of Higher Education of Govt. of Odisha & NSS Regional Centre, Bhubaneswar under the Department of Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports, Govt. of India.


Presently, the CHSE(O) bears the status of the biggest Bureau in the State. Out of 90000 volunteers in  Odisha, CHSE has been allocated 26500 volunteers to carry the programme in a befitting manner through 530 units in 498 Jr.Colleges/ H.S.Schools with 530 Programme Officers. An NSS unit is constituted  of  50 volunteers one programme officer. Recently the Govt. has been pleased to extend NSS activities among the EMRS, CBSE & Polytechnic students through CHSE.


Campus beautification, blood donation, plantation, health camp, cattle camp, different awareness programmes, Right to Information Act, Social audit, rescue & rehabilitation operation at the time of emergency, different skill development programmes like fire-fighting, kitchen gardening, waste material management, spoken English, community mobilization, event management, computer literacy, youth leadership, disaster management, first-aid training, women empowerment, different socio-economic development training etc are some of the major initiatives undertaken by the student volunteers through regular programmes & special camping programme.